Sydney M. Art160 Fall 2014 ASC

The Drawing Process

Drawing without instruction always seems like a good idea initially. You feel inspired, you’ve got all your pencils sharpened and your erasers clean and at the read. Perfect. Usually you have an idea in your head of what you want the final result to look like. Maybe you have your drawing subject put in front of you. Either way, without instruction and without a clearly defined process, you will fall short of your expectations. If you don’t then I will just admit that I do. Usually.

IMG_20140903_010150This beautiful drawing to the left is of a chair. It is far below my expectations of what my drawing of a chair should look like. I had no goal other than to draw a chair. I had no purpose other than to see the end result. I wanted my end result to look ‘correct’ and it did not. It looks similar to ‘a chair’ but in my opinion it does not look like ‘the chair’ I set up to draw.

IMG_20140915_135048

This beautiful drawing to the right is of a chair. It looks very much like ‘the chair’ I set out to draw. In fact I know it has to look extremely similar to the chair I set out to draw because it took all of my patience to carefully measure and scale and proportion all of the aspects of this chair to the drawing. I had not set up a goal end result for this drawing. I wanted it to look like ‘the chair’, yes, but I focused mainly on the technique and process that went into creating this image. Much unlike the drawing of ‘a chair’ I have shown above, I went in willing to learn. I came out quite pleased with the results.

The featured drawing shown above (with the blue and orange squiggles) is a still life image. You may laugh since there are only a handful of lines that you can guess are representations of something other than a tornado. What is most beautiful about this drawing, which is also mine, is that I like the end result. I was not expecting it to look true to form since this is, in fact, a blind contour drawing. However, I also did not care to have an image of what I expected it to look like. I was focused on the process of trusting my eyes to guide my hand rather than to trust my judgement of what the shape/object ‘should’ have looked like.

During these separate drawing processes I have found that my frustrations usually lie in my preconceived notions of what something ‘should’ look like. That ‘should’ can really mess an artist up. Maybe not even an artist but me specifically. This ‘should’ gets in the way of what I am willing to try in terms of visual art and it affects what I am willing to try in other parts of my life. I enjoy art. I enjoy creating it. I love seeing it created. The process, the journey, is more important that the expectation of where I might end up.

This entry was published on September 17, 2014 at 11:35 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Drawing Process

  1. Great comments and writing. Yes, never should on yourself.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Visual Thinking and commented:
    This artist’s post is thoughtful and well-written and even “thesis driven” in that she shares a cohesive connection to the idea of “should” in her concluding paragraph. All of her previous posts are also worth reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

